Yet It Will Come – Titles!

“There is special providence in the fall of a sparrow. If it be now, ’tis not to come; if it be not to come, it will be now; if it be not now, yet it will come. The readiness is all.” This is from Hamlet, and it’s also spoken by quite possibly the creepiest character I’ve ever written. She’s in my most recent work in progress.

I’m editing it now.  And I finally came up with a title I like. It’s from that quote. Yet It Will Come.  This was a huge deal as normally titles are easy for me but I struggled with this one.

A little about the story:

I have a character, Charlie, on a time slip-n-slide. He’s in a love with a woman who’s also on the slip-n-slide. He thinks he’s losing his mind as he figures out that he has to save the men in his family who, (along with himself and the woman he loves but can’t seem to find), all wound up on the revenge list of the previously-mentioned creepiest character ever.

So onto the good part…

My favorite thing about this book is  that I’ve never used chapter titles in any of my other works, but Yet It Will Come needed them – had to have them!

Here are some of them:

For I Must Hold My Tongue

Lemon Chiffon

Almost Ingrid Bergman

Ahem

To Sleep…

Dreams of Jolly

Bev’s Blue Skies

Lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-la

Frailty thy name is what?

The Reason

Bacon and Bedsheets

The Crazy Room

More Fun with S Words

Out of Joint

Clickety-clack Don’t Look Back

Like Paul Newman in Hud

Something Dangerous

Lemon Chiffon II

And Never The Two Shall Meet

Perchance to Dream

Necessitas Legem Non Habet

Shuffling Off

The One-eye Love

Shiny

Fucking Beautiful Fucking Mind, John Nash’s Garage

Some of my chapters are still title-less and some of these might change (particularly that last one!).  Charlie’s in a screwed up world, and the titles seem to show that; maybe that’s why they make me smile so much.

 

 

 

7 responses to “Yet It Will Come – Titles!

  1. Going by the chapter titles, I’d say this sounds like an interesting read. I particularly like Lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-la. The main title sounds great, too. It makes you ask “Yet what will come?”

  2. 🙂 The titles have been so much fun. When I get the rest of the chapters titled I’ll post about it so you can see the rest.

    Jeanne – One-eye Love always makes me laugh. 🙂 In fact, just thinking of it puts a goofy-ass smile on my face.

    But the chapter I think I like the most as it matches so well with the title is “Like Paul Newman in Hud”.

    Ang, I think I told you about Paul Newman being the reality checkpoint, didn’t i? 😀

Leave a Reply

