HOT SOUP!

One of the easiest things to make is soup. You need a broth, and stuff to put in it. How it tastes is all about the combination of things you put in it, and the ratios of those ingredients to each other.

I had chicken broth,  cream, sausage, and red potatoes.

I don’t use recipes very often so sometimes they are difficult to recreate. Luckily with soup, you put in as much or as little as you want and it’s all about ratios.

So here’s how I did it, minus measurements. I’ll do my best to guess.

Brown some sausage (I used about 10 oz. of hot pork sausage). Take the sausage out and set it aside to drain off the fat.

In the same skillet drop in some butter. (about 3/4 of a stick).

Throw in diced celery (one or two stalks – about half a cup diced), diced carrots (one big carrot  – enough for about half a cup of diced carrots), diced onion (one small onion) and some minced garlic (a tablespoon maybe?),  salt and pepper. Saute’  them until they are tender.  Pour 3 cups of chicken broth over it.  It will deglaze the skillet before you transfer it to the stock pot.

Ok, now transfer it.

Add the crumbled sausage back into the mixture. Season with more salt, pepper, and add pinches of parsley, basil and thyme. (keep your seasonings out on the counter, you’ll taste as you go and will need to add more in a bit.) Let it cook for a bit, there are lots of flavors that need to get acquainted and mingle.

Get it up to a nice boil.

Thinly slice red potatoes. I used 6 medium sized red potatoes, skin on.  Drop them in. I reduced the heat to medium and a bit more by adding another few ounces of chicken broth.  I reduced the heat so I could add the half and half cream. I added a pint, and about another half cup of 2% milk. After it warms, taste it again because the cream and milk and potatoes have considerably changed the flavor and zapped your seasoning. I added more of everything; particularly it seemed low on salt and pepper.

After letting it simmer for about 20 minutes I cleaned and coarsely chopped some kale. It didn’t take a whole bunch, I just used the leafy tops.

I dropped them in.

Taste it again. What does it need? Don’t be afraid to re-season at the end, but understand that when it all cooks in, it will be stronger than if you taste it after it’s just been added. Give it some time, taste it again.

I kept thinking it was missing one more thing, and chose to add the tiniest pinch of nutmeg. It makes a nice base flavor. You don’t taste the nutmeg, it just makes the other flavors “sit up and look pretty”.

It tastes fantastic with garlic breadsticks.

Definitely and experimental WIN. I’ll make this soup again for sure.

And here’s a not so great picture of it.

 

 

I have never been good at naming the dishes I create. Your job is to give this soup recipe a clever title! Leave your suggestions in the comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

